Walking NW of Green Lake

My Golden Retriever Hank and I take each other for a walk pretty much every day of the year. We start out from our front door, pick a direction or a destination, and then go out and back in around 30 minutes.

Given these constraints, I’ve often been struck by the seemingly infinite number of interesting details there are to be observed along our walks. Every house is different, and depending on the season and time of day and the weather, the same house may look entirely different from one walk to another.

These walks and these observations are a sort of meditation for me. (Hank has somewhat different interests.) I don’t stick listening devices in my ears during these outings: it’s more than enough for me to walk, to keep an eye on Hank, to say hi to an occasional neighbor, and to take note of my surroundings.

I’ve wondered for a while if it might be fun, for myself and perhaps for others, to keep a sort of log of our walks and my observations, posting a picture with comments every day or so. And so, after much procrastination, I’ve decided this might be a fun thing to do with my micro.blog.

And so it begins.